Creighton dominates M$R

| 06/04/2010

(CNS): All the glitz and glamour of Cayman’s annual power boat race was even more visible this year when the Million Dollar Run débuted its new course along seven mile beach. Dale Crighton was this year’s winner of the main event as he dominated the race in his super fast craft, followed by Michael Ryan who came in second and Andreas Ugland who came in third (photo left). The boats powered up and down seven mile beach at an incredible speed and offered a fantastic spectacle for viewers all along Grand Cayman’s famous stretch of beach.

 “We are extremely happy with the new location of this year’s event,” stated organiser Kenny Rankin. “Being able to host the race on Seven Mile Beach, really opens up the event to allow spectator interaction and builds a lot of excitement for the race. We had a few new captains involved this year as well as some new and exciting crafts, such as, Michael Ryan in the Punisher, Ian Tibbetts with his new craft, More Pressure, the Concrete Boyz and the Concept Dragon Captained by Mario Rankin. A few of the captains experienced engine troubles during the race, but overall we had a safe race and the captains had a great time out there.”
Coming in first for the Dragon Bay Trophy for the Best Time Offshore prize, Dale Crighton made this year’s win his fourth over the years, taking home a cash prize and an exquisite Corum timepiece presented By Magnum Jewelers. Dale Crighton of Team Heavy Metal raced in a 42-foot Yellow and Blue Fountain which was also the winner of the Harbour House best Craft Trophy. Crighton was joined on the water by international throttle-man Troy Hannon of Fort Lauderdale.
(Photo Winner of Best Craft 2010, Heavy Metal Captained by Dale Crighton).
Following in second place was first time racer Michael Ryan of Dragon Bay, competing in an all black 32-foot Buzzi named ‘The Punisher’ and third place Andreas Ugland of Ugland Offshore Racing in his all red 42-foot Buzzi.
In Circuit Class, the Crighton Properties, best time prize was won by a new captain racing for his first time in the event, Wayne Kirkconnell taking to the water in a 38-foot Fountain ‘Way To Go’. As first time competitors Team ‘Way To Go’ started the race at a good pace, but when they saw Ian Tibbetts of ‘More Pressure’ and Merlin Seymour of “Ole Ally Cat” drop out at the last few laps due to engine problems, they took the chance to step up their game and eventually reached first place.
(Photo: Best time winner of the circuit class, Wayne Kirkconnell from Team Way To go.)
In the outlaw class, which encompasses boats under 500 horsepower, Pablo Rousseau of Team Powerplay in the thirty-two foot, 500 horsepower Powerplay craft came out the winner of the Goldfield Cayman Outlaw Class Trophy.
Team Powerplay also managed to hold onto the prize as best crew, with a team of girls decked out in a blue and white sailor outfits they walked away with the Titan Security best crew Trophy.
And the Ugland offshore racing best poker hand prize went to Bob Watler of ‘Team Happy Ours ll’ after having dropped out the last lap on the circuit course due major engine problems; this was the highlight of the team’s day.
For results and more photos, log onto
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.