Three winners inDinghy Race Series

| 02/07/2010

(CNS): Light and shifty wind made for challenging sailing on the final day of the Compass Marine Dinghy Race Series held at the Cayman Islands Sailing Club and completed last month. The six week series ran on Saturday mornings in May and June and was open to all dinghy sailors. After the results were finalised, winners in each division were awarded prizes by Mike Farrington of Compass Marine. Nick Taylor, the 2008 and 2009 Laser National champion, won the Laser Radial division. Jon Faris won the Laser class while Oliver Fogerty took top place in the Bytes.

A release from the CISC said it was a special day for Faris and Fogerty, both winning their final race in their respective classes. Faris, who has been active in growing the Laser fleet at the CISC, has now left for Canada. Fogerty, who was Cayman’s top finisher at the recent Byte North American Championships held during Race Cayman, is moving to the UK.

Sailing Director, Michael Weber, praised the winners, “The nice thing about a six week series is that you get a variety of conditions to challenge the sailors and give everyone a good chance to have a few good races. At the end, however, the best in their respective divisions were the winners.”

Weber also thanked Compass Marine, “The winners appreciate the new sailing gear donated by Compass Marine. We hope this encourages sailors to come out next time.”

The next series runs in September and October 2010.

For more information on sailboat racing in the Cayman Islands, please contact Michael Weber at 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

Comments are closed.