Commonwealth delegates meet in Cayman

| 20/03/2013

CPA-Group-1.gif(CNS): The Cayman Islands branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is hosting a meeting of Commonwealth parliamentary delegates from around the world this week. The 31 delegates include speakers and members of parliament representing Australia, The Bahamas, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Guernsey, India, Lesotho, Maldives, Malawi, Malaysia, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Uganda and the United Kingdom. Additionally, eight delegates led by Secretary General, Dr. William F. Shija, are representing the CPA secretariat in London.


Cayman’s Premier, Juliana O’Connor Connolly, who is the current Caribbean and Americas Representative on the CPA Executive Committee (ExCo), said, “Members strive for excellence and consider it a privilege to sit at the ExCo table to ensure democracy is alive and well.”

Cayman CPA branch president and speaker, Mary Lawrence, was joined by CPA Cayman branch members Alden McLaughlin and McKeeva Bush to talk about Cayman’s history as a democracy.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Local News

About the Author ()

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Anonymous says:

    Are they going to show a movie on that big blue screen…?