Governor gives out gongs to uniform branches

| 03/03/2011

(CNS): Several officers from the various uniformed services in the Cayman Islands recently received Colonial Long Service Awards from Governor Duncan Taylor at a special ceremony at Government House. Members of the Royal Cayman Islands Police, Special Constabulary, Fire, and Prison services were awarded medals for service ranging from nine to thirty years. Four men from the fire service all received the 30-year clasp. Congratulating the awardees on their lengthy and exemplary service, Deputy Governor Donovan Ebanks, whose office organised the ceremony said the Cayman Islands was a better place by virtue of what the service men and women did.

The officers and the respective award divisions follow.

The Colonial Fire Brigade Long Service Medal:
(30-Year Clasp) – Deputy Chief Fire Officer-Administration, Rosworth McLaughlin, JP; Senior Divisional Officer- Aerodrome, Craig McCoy; Station Officers Harvey Chisholm and Milford McCoy.
(25-Year Clasp) – Station Officer Michael Ebanks; Sub-officers George Hurlston and Garfield Ritch.

The Colonial Police Long Service Medal:
(25-Year Clasp) – Chief Inspector Patrick Beersingh; Sergeants Dewey Ebanks and Michael Montaque; Constable Trevor Miller.
(18-Year Clasp) – Sergeants Dorris Morris-Herrera and Robert Smith.
The Colonial Prison Long Service Medal:
(25-Year Clasp) – Deputy Director of Prisons, Daniel Greaves; Principal Officers Harvard Gourzong and Percival Williams; Prison Officer Leonard Jervis.
(18-Year Clasp) – Prison Officers Carl Grant and Carley James.

The Colonial Special Constabulary Medal:
(Nine-Year Medal) – Special Sergeants Vincent Davis, Christopher Duggan and Rodney Rivers; Special Constables Festus Lawrence and Pamela Watler. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Local News

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.