Fidelity Fun Run 2011 series winds up

| 13/10/2011

(CNS): There was nothing anticlimactic about the finale of the 2011 Fidelity Fun Run series as several division titles and other podium positions were only determined in the final stages of the two mile struggle. From the start, capably administered by Olympic sprinter Cydonie Mothersill Stephens, until the final homestretch, there was great speculation as to whether anyone could upset Marius Acker, and also who would win the overall ladies title in the expected duel between Lauretta Bennett and Tracey Walker.

As it happened, no one could top Marius, and the overall men's awards went to the same trio who finished in one-two-three order over each of the three weeks, with Marius at the fore, followed by Conrad Proud, with Carl Grant next in line. On this occasion, times posted were 10:41, 11:06, and 11:09. Greg Meaker, on the scene for the first time in quite a while, placed fourth in 11:20, while Chadwick Webster was a step behind at 11:21, as he finished fifth for the second week in a row.

Among the ladies, Beth Schreader was triumphant as she duplicated her week one victory in 12:29, but a mid-event non-appearance left her shy of points forthe overall title. Lauretta Bennett carried off the number one award with a 12:52 performance, as Tracey Walker gained runnerup honours (13:06). Emma Byrnes placed third overall, timed in 13:21 on this day.

There were 176 runner/walker finishers, with an additional group of pram passengers, and attendees on leash. Prior outings attracted 141 and 181 entries.

Weather on each occasion was sunny, and the favourable conditions contributed to the large turnout.

Representatives of the Fidelity group, who provided the sponsorship, expressed their satisfaction with the activity and organizers, the Phoenix Athletic Club, thanked the  sponsors and all volunteers for their assistance.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.