Opening rally kicks-off 10th CUC PFL season

| 22/09/2014

(CUC-PFL): The customary Opening Rally kicks-off the 2014/2015 CUC Primary Football League (PFL) season this Saturday, September 27 beginning at 9:00am at the traditional home of local football, the T.E. McField Sports Field (Annex Field) in George Town. The 2014/2015 season marks 10 years of sponsorship of the PFL by CUC, a milestone the company is very proud of. Defending Rally champions Cayman Prep aim to continue their winning ways this season. The Rally was one of three trophies the school collected from the 2013/2014 season as they also claimed the Under 11 and Under 9 Champions Cups in January 2014.

The Opening Rally has always been highly entertaining and very competitive with 14 schools competing this year including defending Rally champions Cayman Prep, runners-up Prospect Primary, third-placed NorthEast Schools and fourth-placed St. Ignatius Prep. Other schools competing include Bodden Town Primary, George Town Primary, Savannah Primary, Sir John A. Cumber Primary, Red Bay Primary, Cayman Brac, Cayman International School, South Sound Schools, Truth For Youth and Triple C.

The Opening Rally is an exciting, fast-paced one-day tournament with games being a short 10 minutes per half with no offsides. Games must end with a winner. If games are tied at the end of the 20 minutes, penalties will decide the victor.

The first round of play is the group stage with schools being divided into two groups of three schools and two groups of four. Schools play each other once in their respective group with the two top teams from each group advancing to the second round – the knockout stage. From the quarter finals, the semi-finalists are decided with the resulting two winners advancing to the final and the two losers playing for third and fourth place.

The two groups of three schools include Zone A with Cayman International School, Prospect Primary and Savannah Primary and Zone D with Cayman Prep, Red Bay Primary and South Sound Schools. The two groups of four schools include Zone B with Bodden Town Primary, George Town Primary, StIgnatius Prep and Truth For Youth and Zone C with Cayman Brac, NorthEast Schools, Sir John A Cumber Primary and Triple C.

The PFL Committee encourages fans of “the powerful game” and youth sports in general to make their way to the T.E. McField Sports Field (Annex Field) this Saturday to cheer on the youngsters.

Special thanks to contributing sponsors Progressive Distributors, the CUC Primary Football League’s exclusive supplier of Gatorade.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.