Athletes of the Year

| 18/03/2009

(CNS): At the Cayman Islands Athletic Association’s (CIAA) annual awards dinner held on Saturday night, March 14) at the Mary Miller Hall, Grand Cayman, Cydonie Mothersill and Ronald Forbes won the female and male athletes of the year awards for their overall achievements last year, particularly at the Beijing Olympics. Cydonie made the finals in the 200 meter sprint and Ronald made the quarter finals in the 110m hurdles.

Other winners were: “Youth Female” Ashleigh Nalty, “Youth Male” Jamal Walton, “Junior Female” Alexandra Terry, “Junior Male” Travis Webb, “Senior Female” Cydonie Mothersill, and “Senior Male” Ronald Forbes.

According to a CIAA release, the event was well attended as many family members, friends and supporters came to honour the athletes who represented the Cayman Islands in 2008. Each national representative was presented with a certificate of appreciation for their representation. In addition, awards were also presented to team managers, chaperones, coaches, volunteers, immediate past executive members, North America Central America and the Caribbean (NACAC) President Neville ‘Teddy’ McCook, CIAA President Rayle Roberts, who gave his president’s address, and sponsors. McCook gave greetings and well wishes from the NACAC region and personal greetings from the IAAF President, Lamine Diack.

In his closing remarks Master of Ceremonies Harcourt Wason thanked everyone for attending and for making the occasion a success. He also thanked the sponsors Richard Hew of CUC, Truman Bodden, Donald McClean of the Cayman Islands Olympic Committee and Health Care Phamarcy, Cayman National Bank, Le Blue and the Cayman Islands government for their sponsorship and continued support of the CIAA.

Persons who would like to volunteer their time, become a member or donate to the CIAA can contact us at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.