Uniform vets mark milestones in service

| 16/03/2010

Cayman Islands News, Grand Cayman local news(CNS): Fire, police and prison officers were applauded for their long service recently when some 54 service men and women received official medals, clasps and tributes at a special awards ceremony for uniformed officers. At the Colonial Long Service Awards, the governor gave out awards for people who had served for as long as thirty years. Duncan Taylor took the Royal Salute and inspected the RCIPS’ Guard of Honour before he gave out the respective award. The longest serving vets were Deputy Chief Fire Officer Doorley McLaughlin and Senior Constable Gilbert McLaughlin, each of whom had served more than three decades in uniform. (Left: 25-year prison service veteran Harry Elliot with wife Greta)

Other officers received awards marking the 25th and 18th milestone years of service to the country.

The recipients of the Colonial Fire Brigade’s Long Service Medal are:

30-Year Clasp: Deputy Chief Fire Officer Doorley McLaughlin

25-Year Clasp: Divisional Officer Ronnie Dixon; Station Officer Mark Hydes; and Sub-Officer Colbert Miller.

18-Year Medal: Sub-Officer Ernest Barnes; Leading Fire Officer James Bodden; Fire Officer James Christian; Leading Fire Officer Elton Martin; Fire Officer Richard Pascal; Senior Fleet Technical Warren Scott; Fire Officer Robert Terc; Fire Officer Robin Walton; and Leading Fire Officer Kirk Watson.

Earning the Colonial Police Long Service 30-Year Clasp was Senior Constable Gilbert McLaughlin.

The 25-Year Clasp was presented to: Senior Constable Howard Campbell; Sergeant Betty Ann Ebanks; Senior Constable Colin Pryce; Senior Constable Mary Lee Reece; Senior Constable Osbert Smith and Accident Re-constructionist Vincent Walters.

18-Year Medal: Senior Constable Hong Borden; Detective Inspector Angela Campbell-McLean; Inspector Bennard Ebanks; Senior Constable Fran General; Inspector Richard Harford; Senior Constable Charmane Huntley; Senior Constable Mark Luke; Constable Treva McIntosh; Inspector Dane Pinnock; Chief Inspector Robert Scotland; Sergeant Dausea Scott and Sergeant Orville Williams.

The Colonial Prison Long Service Medal was presented to:

25-Year Clasp: Prison Officer Richard Connolly; Lead Officer Harry Elliott; Lead Officer Carnel Simpson and Prison Officer Richard Wilson.

18-Year Medal: Director of Prisons Dwight Scott; Prison Officer Oscar Owens and Lead Officer Carlton Montaque.

The RCIPS’ Special Constables were also recognised. The Colonial Special Constabulary Medal was presented to:

Special Constable Ricky Bent; Special Constable Nadine Crooks; Commandant Richard Harris; and Assistant Commandant Carolyn Parker.

Also, Colonial Special Constabulary Clasps were presented to: Special Constable Marjorie Bodden; Special Constable Ivan Burgess; Special Sergeant Arthle Evans; Deputy Commandant Christopher Evans; Special Constable Robert Henning; Special Constable Linda McField; Special Constable Errol McLaughlin; Special Constable Glenn McLean; Special Constable Timothy Solomon and Special Constable Peter Wight.

Cayman Islands News, Grand Cayman local news 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Local News

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.