Primary league kicks off with opening rally

| 01/10/2012

pflfinals2012 089 (237x300).jpg(CNS): George Town Primary schools’ football stars will be aiming to defend last year’s Opening Rally title as the 2012/2013 CUC Primary Football League season kicks-off this coming Saturday. The season’s opener takes place at the T.E. McField Sports Field at 9:00 am when the primary teams will compete for the first game title. It was only a year ago that George Town Primary edged Sir John A. Cumber Primary 1-0 in an exciting encounter to claim the Opening Rally, which marked the first of two titles for the boys from the capital, says Neil Murray from CUC the sponsors of the league.

D’Andre Rowe was the player who not only scored the winner for George Town Primary last year but who would also claim the finals ‘Most Valuable Player Award’ at the trophy presentation following the game. But GT have now lost Rowe who has moved on to high school, which could offer hope for the West Bay runner’s up. 

Last season George Town Primary also went on to lift the Under 11 Champions Cup in February 2012 once again defeating Sir John A. Cumber in the Final by two goals to nil.
This season’s opening games will see 15 schools competing including Cayman Brac which participates for the second year in a row. The games consist of 10 minutes per half with no off-sides and games must end with a winner. If games are tied at the end of the 20 minutes, penalties will decide the victor.

The first round of play is the group stage with schools being divided into three groups of four and one group of three. Schools play each other once in their respective groups with the two top teams from each group advancing to the second round – the knockout stage. From then, the semi-finalists are decided with the winners advancing to the final and the losers playing for third and fourth place.

The PFL Committee encourages fans to cheer on the young athletes at what they promise will be an exciting days competition.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.