Environmental activist named conservationist of year

| 02/12/2014

(CNS): Katrina Jurn, has been named conservationist of the year in the National Trusts annual awards designed to celebrate those who are doing their best to preserve the country’s environment and natural resources which are currently under attack from all directions. Jurn who has led the charge on a number of environmental campaigns is also a founding member of Sustainable Cayman an organisation created to raise awareness about the myriad threats to Cayman’s natural environment. Alongside Jurn, Cody Panton, currently studying Marine Biology at the University of Tampa, bagged the Lois Blumenthal Youth Conservationist Award.

Meanwhile, the Heritage Preservation Award, sponsored by Cayman National Bank, went to the Swanky Kitchen Band.

Compass Point Dive Resort also won the Tourism Conservation Award and Divetech Cayman Islands earned the Corporate Conservation Award. The National Trust also recognised donors to its Land Reserve Fund, which is spearheaded by Janet Walker.

The presentations were hosted by the governor, who recently accented to the latest amendments tothe planning law which many conservations have raised significant concerns about.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Science and Nature

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.