Local pharmacists win top regional award

| 24/06/2010

(CNS): The Pharmacy of the Cayman Islands Hospital has received top honours at The Caribbean Association of Pharmacists annual awards. The local health service provider was presented with the regional award for upholding the highest ethical standards in pharmacy practice in the Caribbean, at the prestigious awards held in Dominica. The award was in one of the most coveted categories — a tribute for excellence in professional Pharmacy practice.  In addition pharmacy staff received two other individual awards for excellence in their field. Dhal Seeram of Faith Hospital received the Boehringer-Ingelheim Professional Practice Award for outstanding contribution to hospital pharmacy practice and Angelline Shillingford was awarded the ACME Trophy for the Caribbean Pharmacy Spirit award.

“The selection of these talented team members as recipients of these prestigious awards from among peers throughout the region further demonstrates the level of professional expertise and skills at the Cayman Islands Hospital,” Hospital CEO, Lizzette Yearwood said.  “This is something the people of the Cayman Islands can take pride in.”
In his acceptance speech Seeram said he was humbled to be acknowledged by colleagues from the most recognized professional pharmacy body in the Caribbean. “I encourage our youth to join this noble and rewarding profession of pharmacy and be a blessing to themselves, their families and community. Pharmacists are among the most trusted and reliable health care professionals and are always there to help with health related matters,” he added.
Shillingford whose award recognizes clinical work that promotes the value of the cognitive skills of Pharmacists said it was an honour and a privilege to be recognized for the professional work that she does. “Even more meaningful because I was nominated by my peers and it is a testament to the hard work of the entire pharmacy department,” she said at the awards.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Health

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.