Cayman kick-off v Mexico in U20 women’s tourney

| 06/11/2013

(CNS): Following the official draw which took place in Cayman yesterday evening the local women’s squad will be taking on Mexico when they play their first match of hosts of this significant regional tournament and qualifier for the women’s U20 world cup in Canada. President of the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) Cayman’s Jeffery Webb presided over the draw which sees the national team placed in group B where they will also ballet Trinidad and Honduras in their efforts to qualify for the semi-finals winners of which will also qualify for the world cup.

The tournament will take place on Grand Cayman, over eleven-days 9-19 January next year when the women’s under-20 CONCACAF champion United States – seeded in Group A will begin the defence of their title against Costa Rica. Jamaica and Guatemala will kick off the tournament action on January 9.

The two groups of four teams will participate in round-robin play over the competition’s first six match days. The top two teams from each group will then advance to the semifinals, to be played on Friday, January 17. The semifinal winners will dispute the final, and qualify directly to join host Canada in representing CONCACAF at the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup along with the winner of the third place match.

The United States has won three of the four CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 championships to date, including the inaugural tournament in 2006, and the last edition in 2012.  Canada was crowned champion in 2008. CONCACAF will host all of FIFA’s Women’s World Cup events in 2014 and 2015, starting with the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Costa Rica from March 15 to April 15, 2014, followed by the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada from August 5 to August 20, 2014 and culminating with the FIFA Women’s World Cup from June 6 to July 5, 2015.

“We can be proud that in women’s youth football, CONCACAF has produced world class teams that have in many ways set a benchmark in the sport,” said Webb. “We can be confident that this next CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship will showcase players who in 2014 will go to Canada and win more awards for themselves, their country, and CONCACAF.”

All tournament matches will be held at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.

Group A: United States, Guatemala, Jamaica, Costa Rica      
Group B: Cayman Islands, Honduras, Trinidad & Tobago, Mexico
Thursday, January 9
Guatemala vs. Jamaica, (5:00 p.m.)
United States vs. Costa Rica, (7:30 p.m.)

Friday, January 10
Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago, (5:00 p.m.)
Cayman Islands vs. Mexico, (7:30 p.m.)

Saturday, January 11
Costa Rica vs. Guatemala, (5:00 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. United States, (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, January 12
Mexico vs. Honduras, (5:00 p.m.)
Cayman Islands vs. Trinidad & Tobago, (7:30 p.m.)

Monday, January 13
Jamaica vs. Costa Rica, (5:00 p.m.)
United States vs. Guatemala, (7:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, January 14
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Mexico, (5:00 p.m.)
Cayman Islands vs. Honduras, (7:30 p.m.)

Thursday, January7
SF #1:  Winner Group B vs. Second Group A, (4:00 p.m.)
SF #2:  Winner Group A vs. Second Group B, (7:00 p.m.)

Saturday, January9
Loser SF #1 vs. Loser SF#2, (4:00 p.m.)
Winner SF #1 vs. Winner SF#2, (7:00 p.m.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Sports

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.