Search on for young Caymanian leaders

| 14/10/2011

(CNS): The Foundation for the Young Caymanian Leadership Awards is now accepting nominations for young Caymanians between the ages of 20 and 35 for the 2012 YCLA. Now in its 13th year, the awards ceremony recognises young local leaders. Nominees must demonstrate strong leadership qualities through their personal and professional accomplishments.  Determining factors include character, professional achievements, community involvement and commitment to helping others. Anyone may nominate a young Caymanian, including parents, siblings, co-workers, fellow church members, friends or spouses. (Left: 2011 YCLA winner Natalie Urquhart)

The deadline to submit is Monday 31 October. “We rely entirely on the community to nominate young Caymanians for the YCLA.  Everyone knows an outstanding leader that deserves recognition,” said Melissa Wolfe of the Leadership Foundation. “The onus is on each individual to ensure that special person is nominated and therefore eligible for the award. Well-rounded and dedicated leaders surround us everyday and they are effective role models for our younger generation.  The Foundation was created so that the public can identify and honour them with a nomination.”

Previous recipients include Olivaire Watler in 2000, Dax Foster in 2001, Sara Collins in 2002, Steve Blair in 2003, Cindy Scotland in 2004, Jonathan Tibbetts in 2006, Canover Watson in 2007, Stephen Ryan in 2008, Elroy Bryan in 2009, Collin Anglin in 2010 and Natalie Urquhart in 2011.

The YCLA is decided upon by an Honorary Board composed of 15 prominent Cayman leaders, who were selected for participation based on their established positions in the community as well as their ability and willingness to serve as role models for the younger generation.

The 2012 YCLA will be presented during the annual gala evening awards ceremony, which will be televised live on Cayman27 and is attended by hundreds of Cayman's top community and business leaders.

YCLA information packages have been forwarded to the human resource departments of major companies.  Nomination forms may also be obtained by calling Melissa Wolfe at 916-8335 or emailing and for the first time nominations can now be submitted online at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Local News

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.