Members of the Legislative Assembly

| 03/09/2012

(CNS Library): There are currently 15 elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the Cayman Islands who represent the six districts: four each from George Town and West Bay, three from Bodden Town, two from Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, and one each from North Side and East End. Under the new constitution, this must increase to 18, however, how and where and even when the new members will be added is a much discussed and controversial issue. The deputy governor and the attorney general will continue as ex officio members. 

There is no upper house of parliament. Laws are passed by a unicameral legislature — which is the Legislative Assembly. The speaker of the House, or the deputy speaker in the absence of the speaker, presides over the Legislative Assembly while it is in session.

A bill is put to the LA after it has been approved by Cabinet. If passed by the members of the Legislative Assembly it must then be assented to by the Governor of the Cayman Islands before it is is published in the Official Gazette.

The Governor may at any time, by Proclamation, prorogue or dissolve the LA. Every four years the governor dissolves the LA and within two months there is general election to elect new members or re-elect incumbents.


West Bay

McKeeva Bush (UDP) – Premier

Rolston Anglin (UDP) – Minister of Education, Training & Employment

Cline Glidden (UDP)

Captain Eugene Ebanks (UDP)

George Town:

Alden McLaughlin (PPM) – Leader of the Opposition

Mike Adam (UDP) – Minister of Community Affairs, Gender & Housing 

Kurt Tibbetts (PPM)

Ellio Solomon (UDP)

Bodden Town:

Mark Scotland (UDP) – Minister of Health, Environment, Youth, Sports & Culture

Dwayne Seymour (UDP)

Anthony Eden (PPM)

North Side:

Ezzard Miller (Independent)

East End:

Arden McLean (Independent)

Cayman Brac and Little Cayman:

Juliana O'Connor Connolly (UDP) – Deputy Premier, Minister of District Administration, Works, Lands & Agriculture 

Moses Kirkconnell (PPM)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Government Oversight

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.